A one ski quiver for New England…I think so!

Okay so next Winter can’t come fast enough as I had the opportunity to test a pair of 2012 Black Diamond Amps a few weeks ago in Utah. Okay..selfishly, my season is now over so maybe I anticipate next Winter more then most. For the record these aren’t the ski’s I crashed on! There was about 8-10″ of fresh powder on top of the worst Utah conditions in years so the new snow was welcome and great for testing purposes in the variable conditions. They also make a Women’s specific version…the Element.

The Amp’s have surprisingly soft rocker tips and lots of camber measuring 115mm underfoot and 142 in the shovel. These things sliced unbelievably through the crud and surfed like nothing I have ever rode through the powder. The most amazing thing I found was the turn initiation in the powder was effortless and to top it off they made snappy turns on the hard pack. We have less powder days then we would like in New England so to find a ski with this kind of versatility is a dream come true.

Black Diamond has been manufacturing ski’s for a while but they are really making huge steps forward to challenge all the big players in the ski industry with a much more diverse lineup coming for 2011/2012. I have always loved powder boards while out West but haven’t been able to explain to my business manager (wife Leigh) the need for multiple pairs of ski’s to add to my East Coast quiver. I may need another day to ride these on the true hardpack of the North East but I do believe this could be the ONE ski quiver go to for a more aggressive New England skier.

I must also admit that I didn’t ride these in a telemark set up but with an Alpine Touring binding with an amazing AT boot by Garmont called the Dellerium. However, I look forward to the day I can try these these ski’s set up for telemark.

If you are in the market for a jack of all trades ski you might want to wait to demo a pair of Amps prior to pulling the trigger.

I am thankful to write this review as my memory of my remaining time in Utah is lacking at best.

3 responses

  1. swimmykimy

    Nice review! I am in the market for new skis and I’m in search of some late or post season sales, I will probably end up with another pair of Volkl’s as those have always treated me well, but I might need to demo these!

    On another note, telemark skiing really intrigues me, yet scares the crap out of me. How did it go the first few times you skied tele??

    February 9, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  2. It went well because I went to the right people for an Alpine to Tele clinic…MAD RIVER GLEN offers great and affordable clinics. I can provide you with other resources upon your interest!

    February 9, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    • swimmykimy

      Cool! Mad River Glen scares me a bit, but maybe I’ll have to go up there sometime!

      February 9, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

