Helly Hansen Verglas 3L

I was more than happy to put the Helly Hansen Verglas 3L through it’s paces. This waterproof  (Helly Tech®O2 fabric) hardshell is more on the slim/athletic fit side. I wear a size Large jacket but found the slim fit to be fairly limiting for layering purposes. I was surprised, as a majority of hardshell jackets I have worn in the last couple of years have been on the roomier side, which I find to be more accommodating for freedom of movement. Luckily I  have a twin brother, Jamie, and he was eager to try it and give it a go and it was a perfect match. While I could have made it work, I prefer to have a slim fitting mid layer as opposed to my outer layer.

The Verglas 3L is a feature-rich ski shell that provided protection on some of the nastiest days on the hill this Winter. The helmet-ready hood rocked and was easily cinched down over the helmet. A unique feature that I didn’t understand at first was the placement of rubberized material across the shoulders. I then saw Jamie put the ski’s over his shoulder and noted that material provided a non slip spot for his ski’s as he carried them. I would imagine this material would also be great for holding backpack straps from sliding around as well.

The sleeves are articulated in such a way that when reaching they don’t slide up too far, thus exposing the wrists to the elements. The waterproof zippers also keep the elements at bay and are easy to manipulate. The detachable powder skirt is a welcome feature on the deeper days. The shell also includes some nicely placed pit zips for those days you are earning your turns.

As for the cool feature factor, the well-ventilated laser cut holes provided raves on the wicked cold rides up the lift.  These holes provided warmth and breathability while the jacket was fully zipped over the mouth to the nose.  Many thanks to Helly Hansen for providing us this great mountain classic for review!

2 responses

  1. matt

    i didn’t know the helly jacket had rubber padding on the shoulder for skis.. cool.

    March 8, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    • Thanks for commenting Matt! If I was using the HH brand specific language I would have said…Polymer reinforcement prints!

      March 9, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Leave a Reply

